Chapter 10: The Phoenix on Top of the World

I, Phoenix Jin, am on top of the world. Okay yeah, I am also literally on top of the world, being in Scandinavia and all. But I mean it in the figurative sense, too.

Not only because I doing well at my awesome new job, studying new technologies that would someday enhance space travel. And not only because my bestie, Katje Bergfalk, had just gotten married to Halle Grön in a dreamy winter wonderland wedding.

Katje Wedding

My happiness was overflowing, because my greatest dream had at last come true. Arvid Bergfalk, rock star of Stjernelys, guy of my fantasies, said that he loved me. (No seriously, I am not even making this up).

Rock Star Arvid

We reconnected at Katje’s wedding. One moment, we were chatting and laughing over thick slices of lemon-blueberry-white chocolate wedding cake. Next thing I knew, we were in his bed, sharing a night of wild, passionate sex.

wild passionate night

And it didn’t stop there. We became inseparable. Each day, he filled my phone with romantic texts. Your laughter is my favorite song. Can’t wait to hear it again. He lavished me with expensive gifts, which I tried to refuse, but he wouldn’t hear of it. “If I could, I would give you the world,” he said.

gifts

romance in the parkfamily campfire

Sometimes, we visited his family, and it was like old times, sitting around and catching up over good food or a board game. Other times, it was just the two of us. We went out to music concerts, movies, and sporting events. On our first anniversary, Arvid gave me the biggest surprise of all: a hot air balloon ride over Stjernelys. We sipped champagne and snuggled together while looking out at the breathtaking landscape below us.

balloon 3

ballon 2

balloon

That’s when he said it.

“I love you, Phoenix.” His intense eyes burned into mine like blue ice. “I can’t wait until the day when you will be mine forever.” My heart raced. He wanted me to be his forever! It wasn’t a marriage proposal, exactly, but at least he was thinking about it. Imagine – me, the bride of Arvid Bergfalk. I was overjoyed, jubilant, enraptured. I went home that night with my head full of happily-ever-after dreams.

I never could have predicted what happened next.

lights in the sky

One thought on “Chapter 10: The Phoenix on Top of the World

  1. Lila Remonn says:

    The last sentence… argh, what is going to happen next? Can’t wait for the next chapter now 🙂

Leave a Reply

