Chapter 6: We’re All Just a Bunch of Scrubs

Sawyer in Downtown Los Diablos

Los Diablos!

Man, so far, the city had exceeded my expectations. Only now was I beginning to understand how drab and limited my life back home had been. Here, there were so many colors, sights, and sounds. So many people, and things to do, and foods to eat, that I could barely sit still. I wanted to try everything.

Whenever I wasn’t working, I spent my time exploring the big city. I listened to live music, browsed big stores, and attended street festivals filled with spicy aromas and street performers. And whenever I could, I went out to the movies. Sometimes, I sat in the darkened theater, imagining what Laine would say about the actors and direction. Other times, I watched movies where she starred in a leading role. She was such a talented actress that I  became mesmerized, often forgetting that the person on the screen was actually my long-lost friend.

 

Sawyer in Downtown Los Diablos
Sawyer in Downtown Los Diablos
Sawyer in Downtown Los Diablos

I also did a lot of what my roommate, Jolene, had suggested. Audition, audition, audition. Every cattle call, I was there, with my hair combed, and my best pair of jeans somewhat clean. But the parts kept passing me by. I was a nobody. A nothing. Just another naive small-town kid trying to make it in the big city.

Sawyer in Downtown Los Diablos

BUT THEN…I got my lucky break. Not a big break. But a small one. Adonis had told me about this commercial audition at the very last minute. So I had no time to prepare. I took two city buses, and by the time I arrived, I was out of breath and sunburned, with a messy mane of hair. I was sure the casting gods would take one look and send me packing.

Instead, they called me up and told me to do something funny.

“Something what?” I frowned. Had I heard them right?

“Make us laugh,” said the main casting manager. So I cleared my throat, shook out my tight muscles, and started to deliver the stand-up comedy routine I’d been practicing lately at open mic nights in the park. Before long, the casting manager’s shoulders were shaking with laughter. The others were cracking up, too. After a few minutes, he held up a hand to stop me. “Congratulations,” he said.

I’d gotten the job!

Sawyer in Downtown Los Diablos

When I told Adonis and Jolene, they were ecstatic. “We’ve got to celebrate!” said Jolene. She ordered a cauliflower-crust pizza with vegan cheese, jalapeños, and pineapples. Adonis and I ate ramen instead.

Filming day arrived at last. I reported for duty at Mariposa Studios. I couldn’t believe how enormous this place was! There were people everywhere — moving sets around, driving in golf carts, and strolling around wearing all kinds of costumes.

Sawyer in Downtown Los Diablos

I met the director, who was so busy, she barely glanced my way. I also met one of the producers, some of the crew, and the other actors I would be working with. I asked if any of them had ever worked with Laine before.

“Ha ha ha, I wish!” said my co-star. “She’s like, super famous. People like that don’t mingle with scrubs like us.”

Sawyer on the set
Sawyer on the set

A scrub? Is that how Laine would think of me when we finally saw each other again?

I headed off to makeup, then wardrobe. The artists transformed me. When I looked in the mirror, I was no longer the pale, clueless kid with the outgrown clothes and shaggy hair. I was someone completely different. An actor. I would learn to become a great actor. Someone Laine would want to be friends with again. She deserved better than a scrub. I was going to be a star.

Sawyer on the set
Sawyer on the set
Sawyer on the set
Sawyer on the set

Leave a comment